What is #ProjekBuku: Ritma Atas Puisi

photoOn Dec 31, 2013. I released a free to download e-book that compiles writings, experiences, opinions and musings by 69 individuals that are/were directly involved with the Malaysian independent music scene. This is the second book in its series

WHAT IS IT?
By nature it’s a book

OKAY WHAT IT’S GOING TO BE ABOUT?
It’s a book that compiles writings / experiences / opinions / rants by people who are directly or indirectly involved with Malaysian hip hop/R&B scene.

AND THE POINT IS?
First and foremost, to document the Malaysian hip hop/R&B scene from the perspective of its movers and shakers. Secondly, why not?

SPEAKING OF CONTRIBUTORS, ARE THERE ANY CRITERIA THAT YOU’RE LOOKING AT?
In order to give the book some level of weight and credibility, contributors need to be directly or indirectly contributing to the Malaysian hip hop/R&B scene music for the last 3 years, actively.

ELITIST EH, YOU!
Well, I’m not going to stop you from thinking so. Just keep in mind that the main purpose of this book is to serve as a casual guide to Malaysian music. The basic logic is – Experiences are essential.

GIVE ME SOME NAMES OF THE CONTRIBUTORS THAT HAVE AGREED TO BE A PART OF THIS?
Nothing in black and white, but those who have agreed to contribute to this initiative, at the date this is published (Saturday, Aug 16, 2014) includes Joe Flizzow, Altimet and Jin Hackman. Follow me on Twitter @adlysyairi for updates.

SO WHAT TOPICS DO IT COVERS?
Anything and everything that falls under Malaysian hip hop/R&B scene. From forming a group, writing songs, arranging songs, producing songs, recording, marketing, videos, organising shows, getting radio airplay, giving out interviews, merchandising, running a fanzine/e-zine, social media etc.

NOW, IS THIS A MAINSTREAM OF UNDERGROUND KIND OF BOOK?
Does it matter? It’s a book that that casually documents the Malaysian hip hop/R&B scene from various perspectives and streams. Noticed that I didn’t use the word “Malaysian music industry?” I’m not really interested in “industry” effort. I’m communal.

WILL I GET PAID IF I WERE TO CONTRIBUTE?
No.

NOW BASED ON YOUR “CRITERIA” I THINK I AM “QUALIFIED” TO CONTRIBUTE. WHAT’S THE DEAL?
For starters, email me the subject that you want to write about at projekbukumy@gmail.com by 11:59pm, SUNDAY, AUGUST 31, 2014. Upon selection, you need to email me your contribution by 11:59pm, THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 11, 2014.

WHAT’S THE WORD COUNT LIKE?
I do not dictate expressions. Some write less, some writes more. Use your discretion.

WHEN WILL IT BE RELEASED?
I can only give you a concrete possible date of release after the Sept 11 deadline. I hoping that it will be out by the end of September 2014. Then again, if based on history, it took the first #ProjekBuku almost two years before it saw the light of the day.

WHERE CAN I BUY/STEAL/PHOTOCOPY THIS BOOK?
Like the first #ProjekBuku, I am not planning to sell it at this point of time. It will most definitely be a free to download e-book like the first one.

